De Dycker demonstrates his speed 

Agueda, Portugal was the venue for round 12 of the FIM MXGP World Championship. The typical red dirt made its return after an absence of four years. For Ken De Dycker the Portuguese GP was also a welcome indication that the veteran still has some serious speed. Luck was not on his side but a strong qualifying moto will boost de Dycker’s confidence for the remaining races after the summer break.

On previous visits to the Portuguese circuit de Dycker had been pretty effective. He never finished outside the top-6 in his last three races in Agueda and his best result was a 2nd overall in 2009. Even when Ken needed some time to get into the groove on the tricky, slick and rocky soil he’d figured things out come qualifying time.

From his 20th position at the gate De Dycker handily placed himself right behind the lead group by the exit of the tight first lefthander. Although the 24MX Honda rider dropped from 6th to 8th, he firmly maintained the latter position for most of the race. Unfortunately he was forced to retire when a stone jammed his front brake.

Keeno rode his CRF450R to another great start in the first moto. All the way from the outside he gated 8th. However De Dycker would go down on the opening lap ruining his chances for a good finish. Although he managed to recover from dead last to 22nd he hit his foot and pulled out of the race.

In the final moto of the weekend Ken got of to a solid start inside the top-15. After losing some positions initially the popular veteran charged back to 16th but he had to settle for 18th in the end. Graulus, who had felt under the weather throughout the weekend, finished an unlucky 21st in the first moto.

The MXGP series will take two weekends off before returning at Loket in the Czech Republic for round 13 of the championship on July 22nd and  23rd.

Ken de Dycker: “In terms of results it was a disappointing weekend but I feel that the speed is coming back. My qualifying race went great until I had that problem with my front break getting stuck. I had quite a hard crash in the first moto and needed to ice my ankle when my foot got stuck in a rut later on. The second moto was nowhere near what it could have been. I still felt sore from my crash and I just didn’t have the strength to push like I wanted. But all in all it’s been an encouraging weekend and this is definitely motivating for GP’s like Lommel and Assen where I believe I could do well. ”

MXGP Race 1: 1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 35:13.457; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:01.280; 3. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Suzuki), +0:29.696; 4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:35.385; 5. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:43.826; 6. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:46.739; 7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:48.261; 8. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:49.745; 9. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:50.982; 10. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +1:01.698; 11. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +1:09.038; 12. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +1:12.136; 13. Tanel Leok (EST, Husqvarna), +1:19.505; 14. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Honda), +1:24.231; 15. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +1:36.029; 16. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), +1:42.645; 17. Maxime Desprey (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:46.256; 18. Rui Goncalves (POR, Husqvarna), +1:48.641; 19. Jeffrey Dewulf (BEL, KTM), -1 lap(s); 20. Lukas Neurauter (AUT, KTM), -1 lap(s); 21. Damon Graulus (BEL, 24MX Honda), -1 lap(s); 22. Ryan Houghton (GBR, Yamaha), -1 lap(s); 23. Jonathan Bengtsson (SWE, KTM), -2 lap(s); 24. Sandro Peixe (POR, Honda), -2 lap(s); 25. Jordi Tixier (FRA, Kawasaki), -6 lap(s); 26. Ken de Dycker (BEL, 24MX Honda), -6 lap(s); 27. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), -15 lap(s);

MXGP Race 2:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 35:28.572; 2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:01.768; 3. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Suzuki), +0:38.744; 4. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:44.893; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:46.220; 6. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:48.694; 7. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:54.499; 8. Max Anstie (GBR, Husqvarna), +0:56.119; 9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +1:00.122; 10. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), +1:01.602; 11. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Husqvarna), +1:06.949; 12. Tanel Leok (EST, Husqvarna), +1:13.902; 13. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Honda), +1:18.953; 14. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +1:36.922; 15. Maxime Desprey (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:43.474; 16. Rui Goncalves (POR, Husqvarna), +1:52.808; 17. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), -1 lap(s); 18. Ken de Dycker (BEL, 24MX Honda), -1 lap(s); 19. Lukas Neurauter (AUT, KTM), -1 lap(s); 20. Sandro Peixe (POR, Honda), -1 lap(s); 21. Ryan Houghton (GBR, Yamaha), -1 lap(s); 22. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), -11 lap(s); 23. Damon Graulus (BEL, 24MX Honda), -15 lap(s); 24. Jeffrey Dewulf (BEL, KTM), -19 lap(s);

MXGP Agueda classification:
1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 47 points; 2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 47 p.; 3. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, SUZ), 40 p.; 4. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 34 p.; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 34 p.; 6. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 28 p.; 7. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 26 p.; 8. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 26 p.; 9. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 24 p.; 10. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 22 p.; 11. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 21 p.; 12. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 19 p.; 13. Tanel Leok (EST, HUS), 17 p.; 14. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, HON), 15 p.; 15. Maxime Desprey (FRA, KAW), 10 p.; 16. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), 9 p.; 17. Rui Goncalves (POR, HUS), 8 p.; 18. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 6 p.; 19. Ken de Dycker (BEL, HON), 3 p.; 20. Lukas Neurauter (AUT, KTM), 3 p.; 21. Jeffrey Dewulf (BEL, KTM), 2 p.; 22. Sandro Peixe (POR, HON), 1 p.; 23. Ryan Houghton (GBR, YAM), 0 p.; 24. Damon Graulus (BEL, HON), 0 p.; 25. Jonathan Bengtsson (SWE, KTM), 0 p.; 26. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KAW), 0 p.; 27. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 0 p.;

FIM MXGP World Championship after 12 rounds: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 478 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 387 p.; 3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HUS), 383 p.; 4. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 382 p.; 5. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 310 p.; 6. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 309 p.; 7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 289 p.; 8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 267 p.; 9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 267 p.; 10. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 253 p.; 11. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 244 p.; 12. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 240 p.; 13. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, SUZ), 227 p.; 14. Tanel Leok (EST, HUS), 140 p.; 15. Shaun Simpson (GBR, YAM), 123 p.; 16. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), 113 p.; 17. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, HON), 109 p.; 18. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, SUZ), 90 p.; 19. Rui Goncalves (POR, HUS), 83 p.; 20. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KAW), 71 p.; 21. Valentin Guillod (SUI, HON), 61 p.; 22. Ken de Dycker (BEL, 24MX HONDA), 40 p.; 23. Damon Graulus (BEL, 24MX HONDA), 35 p.; 24. Maxime Desprey (FRA, KAW), 26 p.; 25. Harri Kullas (EST, HUS), 21 p.; 26. Jake Nicholls (GBR, KTM), 15 p.; 27. Jeffrey Dewulf (BEL, KTM), 14 p.; 28. Priit Ratsep (EST, HON), 13 p.; 29. Milko Potisek (FRA, YAM), 12 p.; 30. Jaromir Romancik (CZE, KTM), 11 p.; 31. Evgeny Mikhaylov (RUS, HUS), 10 p.; 32. Filip Bengtsson (SWE, KTM), 8 p.; 33. Xavier Boog (FRA, HON), 8 p.; 34. Yentel Martens (BEL, HUS), 6 p.; 35. Viacheslav Golovkin (RUS, KTM), 6 p.; 36. Jetro Salazar (ECU, HON), 4 p.; 37. Vladislav Leonov (RUS, KTM), 4 p.; 38. Jens Getteman (BEL, KAW), 4 p.; 39. Dennis Ullrich (GER, KTM), 3 p.; 40. Gert Krestinov (EST, HON), 3 p.; 41. Steven Lenoir (FRA, KAW), 3 p.; 42. Lukas Neurauter (AUT, KTM), 3 p.; 43. Ander Valentin (ESP, HON), 2 p.; 44. Peter Irt (SLO, YAM), 2 p.; 45. Joaquin Poli (ARG, HON), 1 p.; 46. Matteo Bonini (ITA, KAW), 1 p.; 47. Sandro Peixe (POR, HON), 1 p.; 48. Farhan Hendro Fahrodjie (INA, KAW), 1 p

Text Jacobs Tom